Academic Advising

Admitted Smith College Park Students Only

Select your advisor below or call 301-405-2286 if you don't know your advisor assignment.

Please schedule advising appointments regarding next semester's course registration on a date that is no more than two weeks before your registration date. To verify when your registration date is, please check Testudo (appointment and registration status). All other advising appointments can be scheduled as needed.

Academic Advising Process for Scheduled Appointments

For the summer 2021 semester, all academic advising appointments will be conducted remotely. Advisors will be conducting appointments via phone and/or Zoom. When scheduling, please pay attention to the location of your appointment. If the location says phone, please provide your phone number (in the comments section in TerpEngage) and your advisor will contact you at your scheduled appointment time. Please note the call will show up as “Unknown number” or “No Caller ID.” If your phone carrier is AT&T you will need to switch your calls to wi-fi in order to receive the phone call from your advisor. If the appointment location is Zoom, the Zoom link will be provided when scheduling. Students can also email their advisor with questions if they do not feel they need a full appointment. Please note there will be no drop-in advising hours for the summer 2021 semester.

Derek Bowe, Jr.
dbowe@umd.edu

Hermela Felten
hhermela@umd.edu

Ebony Fullwood
efullwoo@umd.edu

Brian Horick
bhorick@umd.edu

Kristin LaRiviere
klarivie@umd.edu

Evan Riddle
eriddle1@umd.edu

Gabriele Salinas
gsalinas@umd.edu

Tori Shay
vshay@umd.edu

Jeanette Snider
jcsnider@umd.edu

Melanie Natasha Ashton
mlee19@umd.edu

Both current Smith minor students and prospective Smith minor students can schedule an appointment with Melanie Natasha Ashton. 

At orientation, Smith School students are assigned an academic advisor, and it is recommended that students visit their advisor each semester to ensure that they are informed about current requirements and procedures. Advising appointments can only be made with a student's assigned advisor. If you are unsure who your advisor is, please call the Undergraduate Program Office at 301-405-2286 for assistance.

Back to Top