Community / May 18, 2023

2023 Faculty and Staff Recognition Awards

2023 Faculty and Staff Recognition Awards

One of the world’s top schools for business research, Maryland Smith also is where students experience top-level teaching in a highly supportive community. Smith chronicles and celebrates this distinction at the end of each academic year by honoring its outstanding faculty and staff members with awards of excellence.

Faculty Recognition Awards

Junior Researcher Award:
Musa Subasi
Kunpeng Zhang

Outstanding Researcher Award:
Rellie Derfler-Rozin
PK Kannan

Long-Term Research Impact Award:
Albert “Pete” Kyle

External Research Funding Awards:
Evan Starr

Allen J. Krowe Award for Teaching Excellence:
T. Leigh Anenson
Nicole Coomber
Rellie Derfler-Rozin
Paul Shapiro
Pablo Slutzky
Michel Wedel

Legg-Mason Teaching Innovation Award:
Jennifer Carson Marr

Distinguished Teaching Awards:
Aysun Alp Paukowits
T. Leigh Anenson
Joseph Bailey
Jessica Clark
Cristian Dezso
Michael Faulkender
Judy Frels
Mary Beth Furst
Jennifer Gershberg
Samuel Handwerger
Jewelyn Harrington
Robert Hoffman
Melissa Lucas
Jennifer Marr
Michael Padhi
Julie Pavlovsky
Debra Shapiro
Subra Tangirala
Roy Thomason
Tunay Tunca
Michel Wedel
Sarah Wolek
Bobby Zhou

Faculty Honor Roll

Celebrating our unique Robert H. Smith School community, the Faculty Honor Roll acknowledges faculty who were collaborative champions for the administrative work of the school in the past academic year.

Finance and Accounting
Tom Corsi
Martin Dresner,

Human Resources and Payroll
Zeinab Karake, 
John Bono

Development and Alumni Relations

Michael Kimbrough
Tom Corsi

Dingman Center
Brent Goldfarb
Subra Tangirala

Center for Global Business
Jon Crocker

Center for Social Value Creation
David Kirsch

Marketing Communications
Hank Boyd

Smith Service and Support Center (Operations, Programs & Events, and Scheduling)
Jeff Miller

MBA Programs
Nicole Coomber
Sujin Kim

MS Programs
Jeff Milton
Emanuel Zur

Office of Digital Learning
Idil Yaveroglu

Office of Experiential Learning
Mary Harms

Executive MBA Program
Kislaya Prasad

OCS Undergraduate Career Services
Rajshree Agarwal
Christine Schaaf

OCS Employer Relations
Mary Harms
Michael Kimbrough

OCS Graduate Coaching
John Bono
Emanuel Zur

Smith IT
PK Kannan

Hassan Ibrahim

Undergraduate Core Curriculum
Erich Studer-Ellis
Rebecca Hann

Undergraduate/Smith Business Leadership Fellows
Rajshree Agarwal
Christine Schaaf

Staff Recognition Awards

Smith Rookie of the Year Award:
Feven Girmay
Michael L. Rogers

Smith Values Award:
Tyrone Hagans

Smith Innovations Award:
Kayla Joyce
Andrew “AJ” Jonathan Lintag Rivera

Staff Excellence Award:
Rowena Corpus
Tagrina "Taj" Rayham

Smith Ambassador Award:
Sydney Wade
Miloyka Wilson

Smith Student Champion Award:
Calvin "CJ" Oates

Smith Unsung Hero Award:
Michael Sparrow
Laura Renae Steeg

Smith Champion for Diversity & Inclusion Award:
Tsega Tadesse Belachew

Smith Collaboration Award:
JeShawna Stevens

Media Contact

Greg Muraski
Media Relations Manager
301-892-0973 Mobile 

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and flex MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, business master’s, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.

Back to Top