Smith School’s Bjarnadóttir Earns Highest Icelandic State Honor for Research Impact

Margrét Bjarnadóttir, associate professor at the Smith School, was awarded the Knight’s Cross of the Icelandic Order of the Falcon for transformative research on pay equity.

Smith School’s P.K. Kannan Earns EMAC Distinguished Marketing Scholar Award

P.K. Kannan, a distinguished marketing scholar at the University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business, has been honored with the European Marketing Academy’s 2024 Distinguished Marketing Scholar Award, recognizing his significant contributions and impact in the field of marketing.

Anenson Recognized as a University of Maryland Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

T. Leigh Anenson, a business law professor at the Robert H. Smith School of Business since 2007, received the 2023 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Award from the University of Maryland. Acknowledged for her outstanding scholarship and teaching, Anenson discussed her upcoming book on the national pension crisis in her lecture.

21 Smith School Professors Named Among Top 2% Scholars Worldwide

The University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business faculty shapes future leaders in classrooms and drives global impact through groundbreaking research. Recently, 21 professors were ranked among the top 2% most-cited scholars worldwide by Elsevier. Explore their influential contributions elevating knowledge and inspiring the next generation of business leaders.

Smith’s Pete Kyle Selected for Prestigious Wharton-Jacobs Levy Prize

Albert “Pete” Kyle to be honored with the prestigious Wharton-Jacobs Levy Prize for his influential 1985 Econometrica paper on market microstructure. Kyle's research, recognized for its impact on algorithmic trading, will be celebrated on Sept. 22, 2023, in New York. Learn more about Kyle's groundbreaking work in market microstructure.

Top Research Award to Russ Wermers’ Paper Exploring the Role of Economies-of-Scale in Pension Management

A paper coauthored by Smith’s Russell Wermers is selected for the top prize in the International Centre for Pension Management (ICPM) 2023 Research Awards.

Smith’s Anil Gupta Recognized by Strategic Management Society for Scholarly Impact

Anil K. Gupta, Michael D. Dingman Chair in Strategy and Entrepreneurship at the University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business has received the 2023 CK Prahalad Award for Scholarly Impact on Practice from the Strategic Management Society (SMS).

Debra Shapiro Selected to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Debra Shapiro, the Clarice Smith Professor of Management & Organization at the University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business, was selected to receive the International Association for Conflict Management’s (IACM) Lifetime Achievement Award. Each year, the IACM honors one outstanding faculty member for “meritorious, long-standing, paradigm-shifting contributions to the study of conflict management and negotiation.” Winners are selected by a committee from nominations of scholars whose careers epitomize the goals and purposes of the association.

2023 Faculty and Staff Recognition Awards

One of the world’s top schools for business research, Maryland Smith also is where students experience top-level teaching in a highly supportive community. Smith chronicles and celebrates this distinction at the end of each academic year by honoring its outstanding faculty and staff members with awards of excellence.Faculty Recognition AwardsJunior Researcher Award:Musa SubasiKunpeng ZhangOutstanding Researcher Award:Rellie Derfler-RozinPK Kannan

UMD Recognizes Smith’s Rajshree Agarwal for Research Excellence

Rajshree Agarwal was recognized for her “insights into how innovation and entrepreneurship impact the evolution of industries, firms, and individuals,” as part of the recent 2023 Maryland Research Excellence Celebration.

Back to Top