News at Smith

Smith School Honors Outstanding Teachers with Krowe/Legg Mason Awards

Mar 01, 2007
World Class Faculty & Research


For more than 20 years, the Smith School has been honoring and rewarding outstanding faculty members, instructors and PhD students for their teaching excellence. The Krowe Teaching Award committee, comprised of faculty Smith School faculty members Galit Shmueli, Charley Olson, Mary Harms, and Jeff Kudisch, has announced the following winners and finalists for the 2006-2007 Krowe Teaching Awards and the Legg Mason Award. Nominations were received from students, alumni, deans, department chairs, directors and administrators.

Krowe Award Faculty Category (alphabetical order):
Anand Anandalingam (Decision & Information Technology) - Recognized for his tireless performance and devotion to teaching above and beyond the classroom, and commended for his ability "to take on a daunting course and turning it into a motivating learning experience." He received rave nominations from a diverse audience about his commitment to teaching excellence.

Elinda Kiss (Finance) - Recognized for the professional relationships and commitment that she has developed with her students outside the classroom, as well as excellence in the classroom. She "always reaches out to students for availability and shows a genuine appreciation for each individual student."

Joyce Russell (Management & Organization) - Recognized for her energizing, entertaining, charismatic, and highly communicable teaching style. She connects with students of all levels from MBAs to Executive MBAs. She continually strives for teaching excellence by leading teaching enhancement and curriculum committees, as well as the Smith School's highly acclaimed EMBA executive coaching program.

Erich Studer-Ellis (Decision & Information Systems) - Recognized nationally for his teaching excellence byBusiness Week as one of its "top 7 business professors" and for his passion "to educate and help everyone he meets." The profound impact of his teaching methods are reflected by one student who noted, "Erich not only motivated me to succeed in his class, but he has changed my entire work ethic when it comes to school work. He has motivated me in ways that my parents never could have."

The Krowe Teaching Award faculty finalists were: Shreevardhan Lele (Decision & Information Technologies) and Rachelle Sampson (Logistics Business & Public Policy)

The Legg-Mason Award recipient is Raghu Raghavan (Decision & Information Technologies), who is recognized for using cutting edge software in multiple classes to model and solve business decision problems. Raghavan "combines multiple engaging methods in tune with students' attention levels." The finalists in this category were Hugh Turner (Logistics, Business & Public Policy) and Oliver Schlake(Management & Organization).

Krowe Award PhD/Adjunct Category (alphabetical order):
Eugene Cantor- Recognized for "taking tough accounting courses and making them funny, enjoyable, memorable, and informative."

Bruce Michelson - Recognized for outstanding undergraduate teaching and consistently achieving high ratings across a wide range of accounting courses. He also deserves recognition for connecting with students and "knowing all his Shady Grove students by name."

Mike Pfarrer - Recognized for outstanding undergraduate teaching and selfless sharing and mentoring of others. He maintains a consistent track record of success in the classroom, including having recently been awarded a university-wide teaching award.

James Spina - Recognized for consistent teaching excellence at the undergraduate and graduate level, his students regard him as "knowledgeable, charismatic, enthusiastic, and adaptable," and his sections are among the first to attract a waiting list.

The finalist is this category was Xiaomeng (Alice) Zhang.

The Smith School offers congratulations to all winners! For more information about teaching at Smith, visit

2005-2006 Winners
William DeWitt
Hassan Ibrahim
Jeff Kudisch
Kazim Ruhi
Simon Bensimon 
Mary Harms 
Yun Liu 
Jeffrey Miller 
Merv Yeagle 
Charles Olson

2004-2005 Winners
J. Robert Baum 
Judy Frels 
James Peters 
Galit Shmueli 
Carl Ullrich 
Corey Angst 
Nevena Koukova 
Kathy Boyle
William McClenahan 
Rebecca Hamilton

2003-2004 Winners
Frank Alt
Ritu Agarwal
Hugh Courtney
Gil Souza
Ian Williamson
Joe Bailey
Nerissa Brown
Kristi Minnick
Pat Maggitti
Tracey Yue Wang

Allen J. Krowe, a distinguished alumnus of the University of Maryland, established the Krowe Excellence in Teaching Awards at the Robert H. Smith School of Business in 1986 to recognize and promote excellence in teaching to reward innovation in the classroom. Since the establishment of this award, Krowe has shown a sustained and continuing interest in teaching and education at the University of Maryland.

Krowe is a 1954 graduate of the University of Maryland in Accounting and Economics. His distinguished career at IBM spanned 1960- 1988, where he last served as an executive vice president. He then joined Texaco where he retired as CFO and vice chairman of the board in 1997. He has served as a member of the Board of Visitors and the Deans Advisory Council of the Robert H. Smith School of Business. He has also served as a director of the University of Maryland Foundation. He received the University of Maryland's Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1986 and was awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the University in 1994.

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, specialty master's, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.

Robert H. Smith School of Business
Map of Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland
Robert H. Smith School of Business
Van Munching Hall
College Park MD 20742