Teaching Excellence




Each year, faculty, program directors, deans, department chairs, alumni, and students of the University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business are invited to nominate deserving Smith School faculty members (i.e., tenured, tenure-track, clinical, Professor of the Practice, lecturer, adjunct, or Ph.D. student) for one of several teaching awards. Nominations are due by March 1, 2019, and awards will be presented in May.

Allen J. Krowe Award for Teaching Excellence

The Allen J. Krowe Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes outstanding teaching by our faculty. Great teachers consistently go above and beyond to inspire students and instill learning skills that prepare students for a lifetime of learning. Their teaching leaves an impression and has impact long after the course is completed. These instructors use a variety of methods to keep their courses current and relevant, and have consistently high teaching evaluations.The recipients are chosen based on nominations and teaching evaluations.

Legg Mason Teaching Innovation Award

The Legg Mason Teaching Innovation Award recognizes “exceptional originality, creativity and innovation” in teaching. Recipients have developed and used highly innovative methods that enhance student engagement and learning, and significantly strengthen the decision-making, leadership and communication skills of our students.

CIBER Award for Teaching Innovation in Global Learning

This CIBER Award for Teaching Innovation in Global Learning recognizes outstanding innovation in teaching for a global mindset, meaning an openness to and awareness of diversity across cultures and markets and a propensity and ability to see common patterns across countries and markets. Award was given only in years 2016-18.

Distinguished Teaching Awards

The Distinguished Teaching Awards recognize outstanding teaching performance and are given out once a year, based on student evaluations during the previous academic year.