Ritu Agarwal To Receive UMD’s Highest Honor

Often referred to as “superwoman” by colleagues for her tireless work, Ritu Agarwal has dedicated her career to enhancing the experience of students at Maryland Smith. Now, the Distinguished University Professor and Dean’s Chair of Information Systems will be recognized for her hard work and accomplishments as the recipient of the highest honor the University of Maryland bestows, the President’s Medal.

Maryland Smith's Ritu Agarwal Elected 2021 INFORMS Fellow

Maryland Smith’s Ritu Agarwal was elected as a fellow of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS). The honor is in recognition of her lifetime contributions to the profession and is reserved for only the very top academics and professionals in the field.

Maryland Smith’s Serhiy Kozak Wins Journal of Financial Economics Best Paper Prize

Maryland Smith’s Serhiy Kozak won the 2020 Fama-DFA Prize for the best paper published in the Journal of Financial Economics in the area of capital markets and asset pricing. Kozak’s research, “Shrinking the Cross Section,” was published in the February 2020 issue of the journal.

Maryland Smith’s Pellegrino Wins Western Finance Association’s Best Paper Award

Maryland Smith’s Bruno Pellegrino won the 2021 Charles River Associates Award for the best paper on corporate finance, announced June 17 at the Western Finance Association’s annual conference. Pellegrino’s research looks at the rise of oligopolies in the United States with a groundbreaking new model for economists to more accurately measure competition in U.S. markets and the consequences for consumers.

Maryland Smith’s Gah-Yi Ban Wins INFORMS Operations Management Research Award

Maryland Smith’s Gah-Yi Ban won the 2021 Best Operations Management paper in Operations Research from the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS), an international society for practitioners in the fields of operations research, management science and analytics.

Maryland Smith’s Elmaghraby Wins INFORMS Distinguished Service Award

Maryland Smith’s Wedad Elmaghraby, professor of operations management and management science, was awarded the Distinguished Service Award for 2021 by the Manufacturing and Service Operations Management (MSOM) society.

Maryland Smith Researchers Awarded NSA Funding for ‘Cost-Benefit Analysis of Information Sharing’

The National Security Agency's Laboratory for Telecommunication Sciences (LTS) has awarded research funding for a project titled "Cost-Benefit Analysis of Information Sharing" by professors Lawrence Gordon and Martin Loeb and Research Scholar Lei Zhou at the University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business.

Michael Trusov Named to MSI 2020 Scholar Class

Maryland Smith marketing professor Michael Trusov was named to the 2020 class of Marketing Science Institute (MSI) Scholars, a select group of 35 mid-career faculty, considered among the “most prominent marketing scholars in the world,” by the American Marketing Association group.

INFORMS Honors Maryland Smith Professor Roland Rust

Roland T. Rust, Distinguished University Professor and David Bruce Smith Chair in Marketing at the University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business, has won the 2020 Buck Weaver Award from the INFORMS Society for Marketing Science. The award recognizes career achievements in marketing science and is bestowed by the industry’s leading organization for quantitative marketing.

Golden Wins Mathematics Research Award

Bruce L. Golden, the France-Merrick Chair in Management Science in the department of Decision, Operations and Information Technologies at the University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business, and two of his Ph.D. students have won the 2020 Trevor Evans Award from the Mathematical Association of America.

Back to Top