Ed Snider Center Leadership Award

Apply now

Are you a University of Maryland student who leads by example and makes positive contributions to society? Do you have a deep commitment to and a sustained investment in community, colleagues, teammates, family and friends?

If so, the Ed Snider Center for Enterprise and Markets at the Robert H. Smith School of Business wants to reward you for the work you do on campus and in your community.

The Ed Snider Center Leadership Award will honor four students who demonstrate determination and show achievement in the areas of innovation and enterprise.

We seek students who have accomplished one or more of the following:

  • Helped an organization meet its goals for growth and change.
  • Demonstrated an optimistic vision of the future through their work in the community.
  • Championed goal-oriented collaboration and created positive outcomes for all members of a team.
  • Embodied integrity and exhibited an entrepreneurial growth mindset.
2020 award recepients

Award Details

An awards committee will review all applications and select four finalists. Three finalists will receive $500 each and one grand prize winner will receive $1000. In addition, all finalists will be honored at a ceremony near the end of the spring semester, where they can join with family and friends to hear the announcement of the grand prize winner.


All full-time students enrolled in any major at the University of Maryland with a minimum GPA of 3.0 are eligible to apply.

Application Requirements

To apply, please fill out the application form and be prepared to include the following:

  • Unofficial transcript.
  • An essay: Explain how your achievements relate to the qualities we are looking for in the winner of the leadership award. Please provide specific examples. 500 words or less.
  • One letter of recommendation from someone who can speak to your leadership/achievements.
  • A current version of your resume.

QUESTIONS? Please email the Ed Snider Center for Enterprise & Markets at the Robert H. Smith School of Business at edsnidercenter@umd.edu.

2022 Awardees

  • Kevin Tu - Grand Prize Winner
  • Abby Callas - Winner
  • Alexandra Strouse - Winner
  • Joseph Ward - Winner

2021 Awardees

  • Veeraj Shah- Grand Prize Winner
  • Kevin Tu- Winner
  • Sanketh Andhavarapu- Winner
  • Tesia Shi- Winner

2020 Awardees

  • Ariana Riske- Winner in Enterprise Category
  • Andrew String- Winner in Innovation Category
  • Christian Zimmerman- Winner in Resilience Category
  • Amod Mathur- Finalist in Enterprise Category
  • Naman Sheth- Finalist in Enterprise Category
  • Delina Peter- Finalist in Enterprise Category
  • Hannah Shraim- Finalist in Innovation Category
  • Sanketh Andhavarapu- Finalist in Innovation Category
  • Veeraj Shah- Finalist in Innovation Category
  • Japneet Singh- Finalist in Resilience Category
  • Alejandro Valdes- Finalist in Resilience Category
  • Graham Schuckman- Finalist in Resilience Category

2019 Awardees

  • Adam Hostetter- Winner in Enterprise Category
  • Carly Lyon- Winner in Innovation Category
  • Michael Khizgilov- Winner in Resilience Category
  • Jacqueline Derey- Finalist in Enterprise Category
  • David Rosenstein- Finalist in Enterprise Category
  • William Lu- Finalist in Enterprise Category
  • Josephine Vallejo- Finalist in Innovation Category
  • Sonja Neve- Finalist in Innovation Category
  • June Solow- Finalist in Innovation Category
  • Jahi Jones- Finalist in Resilience Category
  • Eitan Isser- Finalist in Resilience Category
  • Alexandra Johnson- Finalist in Resilience Category

2018 Awardees

  • Linnea Warburton- Winner in Enterprise Category
  • Noah Vernick- Winner in Innovation Category
  • Aayushi Shah- Winner in Resilience Category
  • Dalia Bauman- Finalist in Enterprise Category
  • Poiret Coulibaly- Finalist in Enterprise Category
  • Ana Bieganowska- Finalist in Enterprise Category
  • Bryce Hammond- Finalist in Innovation Category
  • Nikhil Modi- Finalist in Innovation Category
  • Veeraj Shah- Finalist in Innovation Category
  • Brooke Rankin- Finalist in Resilience Category
  • Sarah Joseph- Finalist in Resilience Category
  • Kierstin Acuna- Finalist in Resilience Category
Back to Top