News at Smith

Smith Presents Teaching Excellence Awards

May 28, 2015
World Class Faculty & Research


The Robert H. Smith School of Business at the University of Maryland is recognized as one of the top research institutions in the world, but it is also a place where students can learn from some of the best teachers in the business. Each year, Smith awards three different honors to its faculty members who have demonstrated a passion for teaching excellence: The Distinguished Teaching Awards, the Krowe Teaching Excellence Awards and the Legg-Mason Award.

The Distinguished Teaching Awards, formerly know as the Top 15% Teaching Awards, are given out once a year and are based on faculty performance during the previous academic year.

This year’s Distinguished Teaching Award winners are:

  • Pat Cleveland
  • Joseph Bailey
  • WIlliam McClenahan
  • Andrew Sherman
  • Elizabeth Folsom
  • Joseph Perfetti
  • Michael Justin Lee
  • Isaac Elking
  • Shawn Mankad
  • Eugene Cantor
  • Jeffrey Martin Miller
  • Sandra Rose
  • Gary Bulmash
  • Leigh Anenson
  • Progyan Basu
  • Karen Hallows
  • Congcong Li
  • David Kass
  • Oliver Schlake
  • Michel Wedel
  • Rellie Derfler-Rozin
  • Wendy Moe
  • Wilbur Chung
  • Rachelle Sampson
  • Joydeep Srivastava
  • Bennet Zelner
  • Michael Faulkender
  • Martin Sullivan
  • Shreevardhan Lele
  • Subra Tangirala
  • Siva Viswanathan
  • Tunay Tunca
  • Nicholas Seybert
  • Albert Kyle
  • Liu Yang
  • Philip Evers
  • Sarah Kroncke
  • Holly Zhang

The Smith School established the Krowe Teaching Excellence Awards to recognize those who have demonstrated superior teaching skills. 

This year’s Krowe Award winners are:

  • Joe Bailey, DOIT
  • Zhi-Long Chen, DOIT
  • David Kass, Finance
  • Sarah Kroncke, Finance
  • Rachelle Sampson, LBPP
  • Nick Seybert, Acctg
  • Subra Tangirala, M&O

The Legg Mason Award is given to recognize “exceptional originality, creativity and innovation in teaching. This is a very important award at Smith," said Vice Dean Joyce Russell. "We would like to recognize those faculty that have been especially innovative in various facets of their courses -- design, delivery, assessment, action-learning, etc."

This year’s Legg-Mason Award winner is: 

  • Rebecca Ratner

Congratulations to all of our award recipients.

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, specialty master's, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.

Robert H. Smith School of Business