News at Smith

PhD Program

Sep 01, 2007


The Smith School PhD program, which was ranked #26 globally and #17 in the U.S. the Financial Times in 2006, is producing scholars who go on to teach at top-ranked institutions around the world. Over the past five years, roughly 99 percent of Smith’s PhD students have been successfully placed directly after they graduate—about 80 percent as tenure track assistant professors at an accredited university, and the rest as researchers in either private or government organizations. Recent placements include:

  • Corey Angst (Decision & Information Technologies) -- Notre Dame
  • Animesh (Decision & Information Technologies -- McGill University
  • Ashwin Aravindakshan (Marketing) -- University of California at Davis
  • Adriana Rossiter Hofer (Logistics, Business & Public Policy) -- University of Arkansas
  • Christian Hofer (Logistics, Business & Public Policy) -- University of Arkansas
  • Shweta Oza (Marketing) -- University of Miami
  • Michael Pfarrer (Management & Organization) -- University of Denver
  • Chih-Yang Tseng (Accounting & Information Assurance) -- National Taiwan University
  • Li Zou (Logistics, Business & Public Policy) -- Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

The research of Smith’s PhD students and their faculty collaborators has also received significant recognition, publishing in top journals. Recent publications include:

  • Communications of the ACM
  • Journal of Consumer Research
  • Journal of Transport Economics and Policy
  • Journal of the Transportation Research Forum
  • Management Science
  • Marketing Science
  • MIS Quarterly
  • Networks
  • Quantitative Marketing and Economics
  • Statistical Science

Smith doctoral students were honored in a number of ways this year. Christian Hofer received the Transportation Research Forum’s Best Graduate Student Paper Award in 2006. Carol Miu received the 2006 Liam Glynn/Arizona State University Center for Services Leadership Award.

At the May 10 Doctoral Program Awards Banquet, the Smith School honored PhD students for exceptional achievements.

  • Frank T. Paine Award for Academic Achievement: Corey Angst, Tuck Siong Chung, Sharon Hill
  • Allan N. Nash Outstanding Doctoral Student: Animesh, Christian Hofer, Steven Johnson, Shweta Oza
  • Abraham Golub Memorial Dissertation Proposal Prize: Si Chen
  • Marvin A. Jolson Outstanding Marketing Student: Tuck Siong Chung
  • Gerald and Deana Stempler Competition for Research Related for Family Owned/Controlled Businesses: Vandana Ramachandran

For more information about the Smith School’s PhD program, visit For a broader view of Smith’s current research, including award-winning papers by Smith’s PhD students,

Previous Article Table of Contents Next Article

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, specialty master's, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.

Robert H. Smith School of Business
Map of Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland
Robert H. Smith School of Business
Van Munching Hall
College Park MD 20742