News at Smith

MBA Banquet: And the award goes to...

May 15, 2020


To celebrate the accomplishments of full-time MBA students, faculty and staff, the University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business transformed its annual MBA End-of-Year Banquet to a virtual ceremony on May 15, 2020. Students nominated their classmates and professors for the awards, and a committee of students, faculty and administrators selected the recipients.

This year’s winners:

2nd Year MBAs

Smith Community Development Award: Shannon Moselle

Smith Brand Champion: Erick Loyo and Frank DiGiovanni

Smith Diversity & Inclusion Award: Peyton Harrison

Smith Transformation Award: Nicholas Gummo

Smith Leadership Award: Snigdha Sinha

1st Year MBAs

Smith Impact Award: Rachel Loya

Smith Rising Star Award: Casey Windmuller


Most Effective Core Professors: Neta Moye and Margrét Bjarnadóttir

Most Effective Elective Professors: Cecilia Bustamante and Yogesh Joshi

S.M.I.T.H Award: Shreevardhan Lele

Staff Excellence and Engagement: Komal Dilawari and Maria Pineda

The "SMITH" Award is an overall faculty honor and acronym for:

Steward of the Smith brand within and outside the community

Mentor to current students and alumni

Involved in the daily activities of the MBA program

Teaching excellence displayed in all courses

Highly regarded by the full-time MBA students

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, specialty master's, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.