Lemma W. Senbet

The William E. Mayer Chair Professor of Finance

4437 Van Munching Hall
Ph.D., University at Buffalo, SUNY

Lemma W. Senbet is the William E. Mayer Chair Professor of Finance at the Smith School of the University of Maryland and the founding director of the school's Center for Financial Policy. He is the incoming Executive Director of the African Economic Research Consortium (AERC). Professor Senbet was Chair of the Finance Department, 1998-2006, and his tenure saw rapid transformation of the department into world class.

His widely cited publications have appeared in the Journal of Finance, Review of Financial Studies, Journal of Business, and other leading academic journals. He has received numerous honors and professional recognitions. He has been a director of the American Finance Association and served as President of the Western Finance Association. He is inducted Fellow of the Financial Management Association International and a member of the Financial Economists Roundtable. He was awarded an honorary doctor of letters Honoris Causa by Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia's flagship institution of higher learning. Senbet has advised the World Bank, the IMF, the UN, and other institutions on issues of financial sector reforms and capital market development. He has served as an independent director for The Fortis Funds and currently is an independent director for The Hartford Funds.

Senbet has also served on over a dozen editorial boards, including the Journal of Finance (12 years), Financial Management (20 years), Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis (7 years), served as executive editor of Financial Management (6 years), and Editor (Finance), JIBS (5 years).

Senbet has produced a string of doctoral students and placed them in major universities, including Carnegie Mellon, Dartmouth, Vanderbilt, Florida, and Minnesota. Among his former students are Dean of Tepper School at Carnegie Mellon and Chief Economist of the US Securities and Exchange Commission. Senbet received the Smith School's Krowe Award for Teaching Excellence in 1994.