Krowe and Legg Mason Awards

Awards for Excellence and Innovation

Each May, the Smith School recognizes a few outstanding faculty members for their efforts in the classroom by awarding them either the Krowe or Legg Mason award. These few faculty are carefully chosen from nominations we receive from individuals like you: students, faculty, staff, alumni and friends of Smith.

The nomination process takes just a few moments — please help us recognize outstanding faculty by nominating your favorite professor today!

Allen J. Krowe Award for Teaching Excellence

The Allen J. Krowe Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes outstanding teaching by our faculty. Great teachers consistently go above and beyond to inspire students and instill learning skills that prepare students for a lifetime of learning. Their teaching leaves an impression and has impact long after the course is completed. These instructors use a variety of methods to keep their courses current and relevant, and have consistently high teaching evaluations.The recipients are chosen based on nominations and teaching evaluations.

To recognize a professor for overall teaching excellence, nominate them for a Krowe Award.

Submit a Krowe Award Nomination       Past winners

Legg Mason Teaching Innovation Award

The Legg Mason Teaching Innovation Award recognizes “exceptional originality, creativity and innovation” in teaching. Recipients have developed and used highly innovative methods that enhance student engagement and learning, and significantly strengthen the decision-making, leadership and communication skills of our students.

To recognize a professor for originality, creativity and innovation, nominate them for a Legg Mason Award.

Submit a Legg Mason Award Nomination       Past winners


The Teaching Enhancement Committee (TEC) solicits nominations from students, alumni, faculty and administrators. An ad hoc committee, composed of two members of the TEC and two previous Krowe Award winners, reads the nominations and selects winners based on information in the nominations and the previous years’ teaching evaluations.

2022-23 Teaching Enhancement Committee

  • Bennet Zelner, LBPP (Chair)
  • Pablo Slutzky, FIN
  • John Bono, DOIT
  • Hank Boyd, MKTG
  • Paulo Prochno, M&O
  • Larry Frank, AIA
  • Zeinab Karake (ex officio)
Back to Top