News at Smith

2011 Undergraduate Awards Banquet

May 05, 2011
Top News


2011UGAwardsThe Smith community came together on May 5, 2011, to celebrate the achievements of top undergraduate students at the 11th annual Dean’s Undergraduate Awards Banquet. More than 60 students, faculty, staff and alumni enjoyed a banquet at Van Munching Hall. The much-anticipated annual celebration was the cap on the academic year and a final celebration before course finals and commencement.

Students appreciated the chance to mingle with their peers and officers of the Smith School’s Young Alumni Chapter, and interact with their professors outside of the classroom. The festivities were presided over by Master of Ceremonies Jeff Kudisch, who also serves as the managing director for the Smith School’s Office of Career Services. Eleven top Smith students were formally recognized for their leadership and academic accomplishments.

The awards banquet is the brainchild of Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies Patricia Cleveland. Eleven years ago, she worked to organize a venue to recognize the best and brightest students, now one of the most anticipated events of the year at Smith.

Outstanding Senior Awards

Accounting Award

Anne Axenfeld, Glenwood, Md.
Concentration areas: Accounting and Supply Chain Management

Finance Award

Misha Rajcoomar, Bethesda, Md.
Concentration areas: Finance and Mathematics


David Rubenstein, Silver Spring, Md.
Concentration areas: Finance and Economics

General Business Award

Jennifer Willis, Silver Spring, Md.
Concentration area: Entrepreneurship

Information Systems Award

Jenny Xingchen Zeng, Clarksville, Md.
Concentration area: Information Systems and Supply Chain

International Business Award

Verzhiniya Tancheva, Gaithersburg, Md.
Concentration areas: International Business

Marketing Award

Vidya Sathyamoorthy, Rockville, Md.
Concentration areas: Marketing and Finance

Operations Management Award

Stephany Tong, Silver Spring, Md. 
Concentration area: Operations Management and Supply Chain

Supply Chain Management Award

Tian Tian Feng, Columbia, Md.
Concentration areas: Supply Chain Management and International Business

Dean’s Leadership Award

Teonna Lonon, Glenarden, Md.

Dean’s Graduate of Distinction

Vidya Sathyamoorthy, Rockville, Md.

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business 

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, specialty masters, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.