News at Smith

Alumni Notes

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, specialty master's, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.

Apr 20, 2016



King Leatherbury ’56 was inducted into the Racing Hall of Fame, with a career record of over 6,000 victories.

Ed Snider ’55 received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Global Sports Summit.


Dalbert Ginsberg ’76 has been elected Chair of the Washington Tennis and Education Foundation.

Harvey Goodman ’77, SPPA, president and CEO of Goodman-Gable-Gould/Adjusters International, was named the National Association of Public Insurance Adjusters “Person of the Year.”

Les Hatley ’76 was inducted into the Maryland Entertainment Hall Of Fame on September 20, 2015. Individuals and groups who have made significant contributions to the history of entertainment in the state of Maryland are honored.

Ronald Paul ’78 was appointed to the Montgomery County (MD) Economic Development Corp. by County Executive, Ike Leggett.

Daniel Roland ’78 joined Raymond James to open a new office in Guam.

Richard Schaeffer ’74 joined the Amercanex, the American Cannabis Exchange.

Cary Thomas ’70, MBA ’74 was named president of the Association of Independent Research Institutes.


Guy Brami ’89 has been elected as Chair of Covenant House Washington’s (CHW) Board of Directors. He is currently the Principal Partner of Gelberg Signs.

Christopher Chick ’89 was appointed Chief Lending Officer and Executive Vice President of Severn Savings Bank.

Don DeLash ’86 has been appointed Vice President of Sales at Danaher Specialty Products.

Teresa Halleck '85, the CEO of San Diego County Credit Union was named "Most Admired CEO" by San Diego Business Journal.

Christopher Kubasik ’83 was named president and COO of L-3 Communications, a New York based defense firm.

Harvey Metro ’86 was included in Washington Business Journal’s CFO of the Year list.

Robert Milkovich ’82 was named Chief Executive Officer at First Potomac Realty Trust.

Nam Pham ’88 presented a paper on IP issue at the US Chamber of Commerce's 2015 IP Summit.

Rick Rudman ’84 was named Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of Directors at Tracx Inc.

Gary Swart ’83 was named general partner at Polaris Partners.

Victor Swint ’86 was named president and CEO of Interface Performance Materials.


Gap Year GirlMarianne Bohr, MBA ‘92, a French teacher at Redland Middle School in Derwood, Md., published “Gap Year Girl,” a memoir about a “Baby Boomer’s adventure across 21 countries.”

Mike Daugard ’99 was named Vice President for the Washington, D.C. office of Rubenstein Partners, L.P.

Mark Elenowitz ’92, BANQ’s CEO, served as a featured investor panelist t the Technology Capital Forum for Tech Company Investment Opportunities.

Adam Feinstein ’94 was named to the Board of Directors of Quorum Health.

Mark Hooley ’97 was elected to the Board of Cleantech San Diego.

Therese Johansson, MBA ’97, MS ’97 joined Union Bank as a vice president, commercial loan officer.

John Kotek, MBA ’95 was nominated to be assistant secretary for nuclear energy by the White House.

Lisa Farrell Lujan ’92 was appointed to the Board of Directors of the New Mexico Health Insurance Exchange by New Mexico’s governor, Susana Martinez.

Skip Magness, MBA ’92 was appointed Vice President, Operations, Cyber Division at Northrop Grumman.

Mitchell Paige ’90 was included in Washington Business Journal’s CFO of the Year list.

John Pitsenberger ’96 was named Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer at Sotera Defense Solutions.

Usman Shakir ’97 joined NIKA as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer.

Ken Stadlin, MBA ’96 joined the Board of Directors of Finavera Solar Energy.


Bambo Bamgbose, EMBA ’09 was included in Washington Business Journal’s CFO of the Year list.

Adam Brown ’06 has been named the Director of Health & Wellness at Georgetown Preparatory School in North Bethesda. This is in addition to his role as Athletic Trainer.

Jonathan Carpenter, MBA ’07 was named in the Baltimore Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 list.

Ricardo Cuéllar, MBA ’02 was appointed by PepsiCo as Director, Revenue Development Strategy for its fastest growing Region worldwide – the Asia, Middle East, and Africa market. He is based in Dubai.

Richard Dutton, MBA ’01 was named Chief Quality Officer at U.S. Anesthesia Partners.

David Emerson, MBA ’02 has been tapped to open LCG Associates, Inc.’s new office in Seattle, Washington.

Joanne Ferchland-Parella, MBA ’06 was named Chief Advancement Officer in charge of fund-raising for Atherton’s Menlo College.

David Fitzgerald, MBA ’07 was appointed Chief Pilot at CommutAir.

Neil Kotras, MBA ’07 was named Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer of the National Railroad Retirement Investment Trust.

Alex Lieske, MBA ’08 joined Fridayd LLC, a technology start-up, as Vice President of Revenue.

Scott Nestler, PhD ’07 retired from the Army after 25 years and has taken a position at the Mendoza College of Business at the University of Notre Dame as an Associate Professional Specialist.

Eugene Poverni ’07 was liked on B’s 6th annual 10 people to watch under 30 list for his role in real estate development in Baltimore.

Claudia Ramirez ’03 was featured in Doctor Oz Magazine for her volunteer efforts as a rehabilitation physician.

Samira Sabulis ’08 founded a video-tagging software startup called Tagazu. This feature allows e-commerce platforms to tag an item available for purchase in a video.

Ben Scheper ’09 was named in the Baltimore Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 list.

Megan Sclafani ’04 was named a Partner at Summit Trail Advisors.

Kate Williams, MBA ’07 was named in the Baltimore Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 list.


Landria BuckleyLandria Buckley, MBA ‘15, will compete in the U.S. Olympic Team Trials in Eugene, Ore., in July 2016. During her Smith MBA program, she placed seventh at the USA Track and Field Champions/ World Trials in the 400-meter hurdles. She later represented the United States at the World University Games in Kazan, Russia.

James Fayal ’12 moved his start-up, Zest Tea, to Baltimore from Philadelphia.

Steven Feiner ’10 was featured in VentureBeat for his flower delivery start-up, A Better Florist.

James Shaffer ’10 opened a new restaurant, Argosy Café, in downtown Baltimore.

Kanchan Singh ’12 opened D.C.’s first cat café, Crumbs & Whiskers.


Robert H. Smith School of Business
Map of Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland
Robert H. Smith School of Business
Van Munching Hall
College Park MD 20742