News at Smith

Faculty Kudos

Jan 01, 2006


Michael Ball, Orkand Professor of Management Science, and Michael Fu, professor of management science, have received a $630,000 grant from NSF under the special initiative on “Dynamic Data Driven Application Systems.” The title of their proposal is “Dynamic Real-Time Order Promising and Fulfillment for Global Make-to-Order Supply Chains.” Ball has been named Area Editor for Transportation in the flagship journal Operations Research.

Chris Bingham, assistant professor of management and organization, won the Best Paper Award at the 2005 Atlanta Competitive Advantage Conference for his paper on "Opening the Black Box of Capability Creation: The Internationalization of Entrepreneurial Firms." Bingham's paper on "Building Theory Using Simulation" has been conditionally accepted for publication in Academy of Management Review.

Bruce Golden, France-Merrick Chair in Management Science, will be the first Conoco-Phillips Distinguished Lecture at Oklahoma State University in October 2005. He presented two lectures as Distinguished Speaker at the 31st Lunteren Conference on the Mathematics of Operations Research in Lunteren, The Netherlands in January 2006.

Larry Gordon, Ernst&Young Alumni Professor of Managerial Accounting, has been appointed as the International Representative for Accounting for the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise (RAE) in the U.K. The RAE is the process which determines the research ranking, and in turn research funding, for the various departments (across all disciplines) at U.K. universities for several years starting in 2008.

David Kirschv, assistant professor of management and organization, has received additional funding for his "Dot Com Archives" project. The Library of Congress has extended its funding agreement under the National Digital Information Infrastructure Preservation Program (NDIIPP) for an additional two years, through 2007, committing an additional $813,000, bringing total direct support to $1,056,000. Counting additional contributions from project partners, the project has received $2,209,000 in funding.

Dilip Madan, professor of finance, has been appointed editor of Mathematical Finance.

S. Raghavan, assistant professor of management science, and G. Anandalingam, Ralph J. Tyser Professor of Management Science, co-edited a book entitled Telecommunications
Planning: Innovations in Pricing, Network Design and Management, to be published by Springer.

Ian Williamson, assistant professor of management and organization, has won the 2005 Academy of Management Mentoring Best Practices Award. This award recognizes individuals who have excelled in providing mentoring to Academy of Management members. Williamson has been invited to join the editorial board of Academy of Management Journal.

Previous Article Table of Contents Next Article

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, specialty master's, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.