News at Smith

Faculty Awards and Honors

Sep 01, 2008


A paper by Sandor Boyson, research professor and co-director of the Supply Chain Management Center, titled “Unified Communications: Leading Advances in Global Decision Making & Economic Development,” was published in the World Economic Forum’s 2008 Global Information Technology report.

Gilad Chen, associate professor of management and organization, received the 2008 Cummings Scholar Award for early- to mid-career scholarly achievement, given by the Organizational Behavior Division of the Academy of Management.

Hugh Courtney, associate dean of executive education, was elected chairman of the board for D&E Communications. Courtney also maintains an active consulting and executive education practice focused on business strategy formulation in highly uncertain and competitive markets. Prior to joining the Smith School in 2002, he was a leader in McKinsey & Company’s Global Strategy practice, where he served clients on six continents on a wide variety of strategy development and implementation issues.

Anil Gupta, Ralph J. Tyser Professor of Strategy and Organization, has been elected to the board of directors of OriGene Technologies, a pioneer in the development of patented processes for the isolation of full-length cDNA and rapid expression profiling techniques.

Dilip Madan, professor of finance, received international recognition for his research by being awarded the Medal of Science from the University of Bologna’s Institute of Advanced Studies.

Roland Rust, David Bruce Smith Chair in Marketing and chair of the marketing department, has been named Distinguished University Professor. It is the highest honor presented by the university; only 50 have been awarded since the award’s inception 28 years ago. The title of Distinguished University Professor recognizes the influence of Rust’s body of research and the impact he has made on the field of marketing, particularly in the area of service.

Debra Shapiro, Clarice Smith Professor of Management and Organization, has had two papers accepted for presentation at the Academy of Management meeting in August and has been invited to serve as a faculty-representative on the Junior Faculty Consortium for the Academy of Management’s Organizational Behavior Division.

Ken Smith, Dean’s Chaired Professor of Business Strategy, is current past president of the Academy of Management and a member of the editorial board of Strategic Management Journal and Academy of Management Journal.

Gilvan Souza, associate professor of operations management, co-authored a paper titled “Multi-Period Remanufacturing Planning with Uncertain Quality of Inputs,” which won the Wickham Skinner Best Unpublished Paper Award from the Production and Operations Management Society (POMS).

Michel Wedel, PepsiCo Professor of Consumer Science, received the American Marketing Association’s Gilbert A. Churchill Award for lifetime achievement in the academic study of marketing research. Wedel received his award at the American Marketing Association’s Summer Marketing Educators’ Conference in San Diego on August 9. 

Previous Article Table of Contents Next Article

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, specialty master's, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.

Robert H. Smith School of Business
Map of Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland
Robert H. Smith School of Business
Van Munching Hall
College Park MD 20742