News at Smith

Faculty Kudos

Sep 01, 2005


G. Anandalingam, Ralph J. Tyser Professor of Management Science, chair of the decision and information technologies department and co-director of the Center for Electronic Markets and Enterprises, and Raghu Raghavan, assistant professor of management science, co-edited a special issue of the Journal of Management Science focused on electronic markets in March 2005.

Sandor Boyson, research professor and co-director of the Supply Chain Management Center, was the keynote speaker at both the Greater China Logistics Forum in Tapei in December 2004 and the Annual National E-Logistics Forum sponsored by the Finnish Government.

Bruce Golden, France-Merrick Professor of Management Science, was elected to the INFORMS Fellows Selection Committee for a term of three years.

Lawrence A. Gordon, Ernst & Young Alumni Professor of Managerial Accounting, and Martin Loeb, Deloitte & Touche LLP Faculty Fellow and professor of accounting and information assurance, were invited to be guest editors of a special issue of Information Systems Frontiers on the topic Economic Aspects of Information Security.

A paper coauthored by Anne Marie Knott, visiting assistant professor of management and organization, and Wharton PhD student Brian Wu, “Entrepreneurial Risk and Market Entry,” received the annual Best Doctoral Paper award from the Small Business Administration's Office of Advocacy. The paper describes entrepreneurs as inherently overconfident, which helps cancel out their sensitivity to risk.

Smith’s marketing department won best article awards from the Journal of Marketing for two separate articles: Roland Rust, David Bruce Smith Chair in Marketing, chair of the marketing department and director of the Center for Excellence in Service, won the MSI/Paul Root Award for the article with the greatest impact on marketing practice, for his article, “Return on Marketing: Using Customer Equity to Focus Marketing Strategy,” co-authored by Katherine Lemon & Valarie Zeithaml. Steve Vargo, visiting professor of marketing, won the Harold H. Maynard Award for the article with the greatest impact on marketing theory; his paper is entitled “Evolving to a New Dominant Logic for Marketing,” and co-authored with Robert Lusch.

Smith’s marketing department was awarded the 2006 AMA Doctoral Consortium. Gabriel Biehal, associate professor of marketing, Brian Ratchford, Pepsico Chair in Consumer Research and Roland Rust will co-chair the Consortium.

Roland Rust was named the 2005 winner of the Distinguished Marketing Scholar Award by the Society for Marketing Advances. The award, honoring “exceptional scholarly achievements,” will be presented at the annual SMA conference in November.

Raghu Raghavan, assistant professor of management science, has been appointed associate editor for the INFORMS Journal on Computing.

Lemma Senbet, William E. Mayer Chair in Finance and chair of the finance department, was a speaker at the annual conference of the World Bank in Dakar, Senegal, January 2005. This is the first time that such a meeting was held in Africa. He also participated in the ensuing workshop involving World Bank officials and African economic policy makers.

M. Susan Taylor, Dean’s Professor of Human Resources, was appointed an International Visiting Research Fellow by AIM, England's Advanced Institute of Management Research, for 2005-2007.

Previous Article Table of Contents Next Article

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business 

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, specialty masters, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.