News at Smith

Thought Leadership

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, specialty master's, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.

May 11, 2015
World Class Faculty & Research


Rajshree Agarwal, the Rudolph P. Lamone Chair and Professor in Entrepreneurship, has been named academic director of the new Ed Snider Center for Enterprise and Markets.

Kislaya Prasad, research professor, helped the school win a $1 million grant from the U.S. Department of Education that will fund the Center for International Business Education and Research (CIBER) through 2018. Prasad has served as academic director of the school’s CIBER since 2009.

Roland Rust, Distinguished Professor, executive director of the Center for Excellence in Service and the David Bruce Smith Chair in Marketing, has been named the editor of the International Journal of Research in Marketing. He is the first non-European to be sole editor of the journal. Rust is also one of two people in 2015 to be elected a Fellow of the European Marketing Academy (EMAC).

Amna Kirmani, marketing professor, has been named editor of the Journal of Consumer Psychology. Her new post started Jan. 1, 2015.

Sandor Boyson, research professor and co-director of the Supply Chain Management Center, was named Resilient Supply Chain Educator of the Year in 2015 by the Global Supply Chain Resiliency Council.

Tom Corsi, co-director of the Supply Chain Management Center and the Michelle E. Smith Professor of Logistics, and Curt Grimm, the Charles A. Taff Chair of Economics and Strategy, won the 2014 best paper award from Transportation Journal and the American Society of Transportation and Logistics. Their paper, “Should Smaller Commercial Trucks Be Subject to Safety Regulations?” was co-authored with David Cantor, PhD ’06, of Iowa State University and Donald Wright of Volpe Transportation Systems Center.

Zhi-Long Chen, operations management professor, was appointed as a senior editor of the Journal Production and Operations Management.

Lindsey Gallo, PhD ’14, earned the 2014 Paine Award for Academic Achievement and started her academic career as an assistant professor at the University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business.

MaryJane Rabier, PhD ’14, started her academic career as an assistant professor at McGill University’s Desautels Faculty of Management.

Gordon Gao, professor of decision, operations and information technologies, has been appointed as associate editor at Management Science.

Bruce Golden, the France-Merrick Chair in Management Science, will participate at several thought leadership events in summer 2015. He will serve on committees for the ODYSSEUS Conference in Corsica, the VEROLOG Conference in Austria, the Metaheuristics International Conference in Morocco, and the INFORMS TSL Workshop in Germany. He also will give two lectures at the EURO PhD School in Italy.

Rebecca Hann, accounting professor, has been appointed to the editorial board of The Accounting Review.

Martin Loeb, Accounting and Information Assurance department chair, professor and Deloitte & Touche Faculty Fellow, has authored research cited by 10 Nobel Laureates, including the 2014 Economics Sciences Prize Winner.

Louiqa Raschid, information systems professor, coauthored papers that were showcased as the leading paper and cover for a special issue of the Association of Computing Machinery Transactions and in the opening session of the International Semantic Web Conference.

Joyce Russell, Smith’s vice dean, has been invited to serve on the MBA Roundtable Advisory Group and the National Women's MBA Executive Board. In November 2014, she presented three papers at the Annual MBA Roundtable meeting hosted by IE Business School for deans and MBA faculty.

Christine Beckman, management and organization professor, has been named academic director of the Center for Social Value Creation.

Brent Goldfarb, management and organization professor, has been named academic director of the Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship.

Michael Faulkender, associate professor of finance and director of Smith’s Master in Finance program, has been appointed as associate editor of the Journal of Finance.

Jorge Mejia, Smith PhD student, coauthored a paper with information systems professor Anand Gopal and marketing professor Michael Trusov that won two awards at the Conference on Information Systems and Technology on Nov. 8-9, 2014, in San Francisco. The paper, “Deal or No Deal? Merchant Characteristics and Competition in the Effect of Online Deals on Consumer Quality Perceptions,” won second place for best research video and third place for best post paper.

Tianshu Sun, PhD student, won third place at the 2014 INFORMS Service Science Best Paper Award Competition for his paper, “Understanding the Effects of Message Design on Firm-Mediated Online Social Interactions: A Randomized Field Experiment.”

Cliff Rossi, finance professor, has been appointed by Radian Group as senior vice president and chief economist.

Jeff Kudisch, assistant dean, clinical professor and managing director at the Office of Career Services,  served as the co-chair of the International Congress on Assessment Center Methods on Oct. 22-24, 2014, in Alexandria, Va.

Gary Cohen, assistant dean of executive programs and Distinguished Tyser Teaching Fellow, served as a panelist at the Financial Times annual China Forum in November 2014, speaking on graduate business education in China. He was also a presenter at the American Chamber of Commerce's annual correspondents dinner in Beijing.

Robert H. Smith School of Business