Contact Us

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Faculty and Staff

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The diversity and inclusion committee at Smith is comprised of Smith faculty and staff. This committee is formed to:

  1. CREATE a vision statement that transforms Smith;
  2. EXPAND the existing portfolio of experiences for diverse students at Smith; and
  3. DIVERSIFY the voices of leadership and decision making at Smith.

To request more information and to inquire about joining the committee, email Sara Herald at sherald@umd.edu.

Melanie Ashton
Assistant Director
Undergraduate Programs
mlee19@umd.edu

Derek Bowe
Academic Advisor
Undergraduate Programs
dbowe@umd.edu

Shannon Broughton
Employer Relations Program Manager
Office of Career Services
sbroughton@umd.edu

Sherri Campbell
Assistant Director, Exec. Assistant to Assistant Dean
Office of Career Services
slcamp50@umd.edu

Ashlee Chicoine
Director, Undergraduate Career Programming
Office of Career Services
akerkhof@umd.edu

Darrell Claiborne
Director
Smith Operations
dclaibor@umd.edu

Nicole Coomber
Associate Clinical Professor
Management & Organization
ncottre@umd.edu

Rachel DiDonna
Program Coordinator
QUEST Honors Program
rdidonna@umd.edu

Hermela Felten 
Academic Advisor
Undergraduate Programs
hhermela@umd.edu

Mark Forrest
Program Director
Office of Development and Alumni Relations
maf31@umd.edu

Ebony Fullwood
Associate Director
Undergraduate Programs
efullwoo@umd.edu

Sara Herald — COMMITTEE CHAIR
Associate Director, Social Entrepreneurship
Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship
sherald@umd.edu

Zeinab Karake
Clinical Professor
Decision, Operations & Information Technologies
zkarake@umd.edu

Joyce Koo
Coordinator
Ed Snider Center for Enterprise and Markets
joyceck@umd.edu

Kristin LaRiviere 
Associate Director
Undergraduate Programs
klarivie@umd.edu

Adam Lee
Lecturer
Decision, Operations and Information Technologies
adamlee@umd.edu

Stephanie Lindo
Recruitment Manager, MBA
Master’s Program Office
slindo@umd.edu

Millicent Locke
Associate Director of Marketing
Office of Marketing Communications
mlocke@umd.edu

Victor Mullins — DIVERSITY OFFICER
Associate Dean
Undergraduate Programs
vmullins@umd.edu

Cynthia O'Brien
Senior Director, Employer Relations
Office of Career Services
cobrien6@umd.edu

Maria Pineda
Director of Admissions, Full-Time MBA
Master's Program Office
mpineda@umd.edu

Greg Rafal
Assistant Director, Global Programs
Center for Global Business
grafal@umd.edu

Doireann Renzi
Pedagogy Expert
Office of Transformational Learning
dhobbs@umd.edu

Justin Reyna
Lecturer
Department of Logistics, Business and Public Policy
jreyna@umd.edu

Jessica Roffe
Assistant Director
QUEST
jroffe@umd.edu

Allison Schwarz
Executive Director, Alumni Relations
Office of Development and Alumni Relations
aschwa99@umd.edu

Tori Shay
Assistant Director
Undergraduate Programs
vshay@umd.edu

Jeanette Snider
Associate Director
Undergraduate Programs
jcsnider@umd.edu

Michael Sparrow
Manager
Smith Operations
msparrow@umd.edu

Amy Swann
Director of Specialty Master's Programs
Master’s Program Office
amyswann@umd.edu

Pam Talbott
Coordinator
Office of Transformational Learning
ptalbott@umd.edu

Ongoing Projects

  1. Purpose Project Reboot
    Sherri Campbell, Jess Roffe, Shannon Broughton, Mark Forrest, Rachel DiDonna

  2. Smith's Black Agenda
    Stephanie Lindo, Jeanette Snider, Mark Forrest, Derek Bowe, Jr, Nicole Coomber, Melanie Ashton, Darrell Claiborne

  3. Smith Pride Committee
    Rachel DiDonna, Greg Rafal, Jeanette Snider
  4. Faculty resource development around anti-racism in the classroom
    Doireann Renzi

  5. Dis/Ability and Accessibility Committee
    Tori Shay, Ebony Fullwood, Jeanette Snider, Kristin LaRivere, Hermela Felten, Jessica Roffe

  6. Smith Reading and Dialogue Series
    Jeanette Snider

Diversity Empowerment Council

Smith Student Committee

Diversity Empowerment CouncilThe students at Smith are dedicated to creating a truly welcoming environment in Van Munching Hall. The Diversity Empowerment Council (DEC), overseen by Jeanette Snider, is comprised of graduate and undergraduate students who care deeply about the experiences of diverse students within our community. Their goals are to:

  1. REPRESENT the collective views of the student body;
  2. FACILITATE interaction within the community at large; and
  3. UNITE Smith so that we may thrive together, rather than struggle separately.

To learn more about the DEC, email Jeanette Snider at jcsnider@umd.edu.

  • Leila Bouhussein, Undergrad
  • David Caceres, Undergrad
  • Samantha Chu, Master’s
  • Shirley During, Undergrad
  • Justin Ferguson, Master’s
  • Karen Hao, Undergrad
  • Desiree Morrison, Undergrad
  • Katherine Robinson, Undergrad
  • Jasmine Snead, Master’s
  • Jennifer Wang, Undergrad
  • Malcolm Woodbury, Undergrad

Ongoing Projects

  1. #SmithSpeaks — Filmed Informational Testimonials
    Justin Ferguson, Jasmine Snead, Desiree Morrison

  2. Equity in Career Services
    Leila Bouhussein, David Caceres, Samantha Chu, Karen Hao, Jennifer Wang

  3. Data Mining and Decision Making
    Justin Ferguson, Samantha Chu

  4. Voting and Political Education
    Justin Fergusin, Katherine Robinson, Jasmine Snead

  5. DEI Thought Leadership
    Desiree Morrison, Malcolm Woodberry, Shirley During

Robert H. Smith School of Business
Map of Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland
Robert H. Smith School of Business
Van Munching Hall
College Park MD 20742
301.405.7762