Contact Us

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Faculty and Staff

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

The diversity and inclusion committee at Smith is comprised of Smith faculty and staff. This committee is formed to:

  1. CREATE a vision statement that transforms Smith;
  2. EXPAND the existing portfolio of experiences for diverse students at Smith; and
  3. DIVERSIFY the voices of leadership and decision making at Smith.

To request more information and to inquire about joining the committee, email Sara Herald at

Melanie Ashton
Assistant Director
Undergraduate Programs

Marni Blachowicz
Senior Instructional Designer
Office of Transformational Learning

Derek Bowe
Academic Advisor
Undergraduate Programs

Shannon Broughton
Employer Relations Program Manager
Office of Career Services

Sherri Campbell
Assistant Director, Exec. Assistant to Assistant Dean
Office of Career Services

Ashlee Chicoine
Director, Undergraduate Career Programming
Office of Career Services

Darrell Claiborne
Smith Operations

Nicole Coomber
Associate Clinical Professor
Management & Organization

Rachel DiDonna
Program Coordinator
QUEST Honors Program

Hermela Felten 
Academic Advisor
Undergraduate Programs

Mark Forrest
Program Director
Office of Development and Alumni Relations

Ebony Fullwood
Associate Director
Undergraduate Programs

Associate Director, Social Entrepreneurship
Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship

Zeinab Karake
Clinical Professor
Decision, Operations & Information Technologies

Joyce Koo
Ed Snider Center for Enterprise and Markets

Kristin LaRiviere 
Associate Director
Undergraduate Programs

Adam Lee
Decision, Operations and Information Technologies

Stephanie Lindo
Recruitment Manager, MBA
Master’s Program Office

Millicent Locke
Associate Director of Marketing
Office of Marketing Communications

Associate Dean
Undergraduate Programs

Cynthia O'Brien
Senior Director, Employer Relations
Office of Career Services

Maria Pineda
Director of Admissions, Full-Time MBA
Master's Program Office

Greg Rafal
Assistant Director, Global Programs
Center for Global Business

Doireann Renzi
Pedagogy Expert
Office of Transformational Learning

Justin Reyna
Department of Logistics, Business and Public Policy

Jessica Roffe
Assistant Director

Allison Schwarz
Executive Director, Alumni Relations
Office of Development and Alumni Relations

Tori Shay
Assistant Director
Undergraduate Programs

Jeanette Snider
Associate Director
Undergraduate Programs

Michael Sparrow
Smith Operations

Amy Swann
Director of Specialty Master's Programs
Master’s Program Office

Pam Talbott
Office of Transformational Learning

Ongoing Projects

  1. Smith Day of Solidarity
    Sara Herald, Jeanette Snider, Victor Mullins, Amy Swann, Melanie Ashton, Mark Forrest

  2. Purpose Project Reboot
    Sherri Campbell, Jess Roffe, Shannon Broughton, Mark Forrest, Rachel DiDonna

  3. Smith's Black Agenda
    Stephanie Lindo, Jeanette Snider, Mark Forrest, Derek Bowe, Jr, Nicole Coomber, Melanie Ashton, Darrell Claiborne

  4. Smith Summer Reading and Dialogue Series Facilitators
    Jeanette Snider, Adam Lee, Nicole Coomber, Rachel DiDonna, Greg Rafal

  5. Smith Departmental Anti-Racist Discussion Prompts
    Jeanette Snider, Amy Swann, Adam Lee, Derek Bowe, Jr., Allison Schwarz

  6. Collaboration With the Diversity Empowerment Council to Contribute Video Testimonials
    Nicole Coomber, Melanie Ashton, Greg Rafal, Darrell Claiborne

  7. Smith Pride Committee
    Rachel DiDonna, Greg Rafal, Jessica Roffe, Jeanette Snider
  8. Faculty resource development around anti-racism in the classroom
    Doireann Renzi and Marni Blachowicz

  9. Dis/Ability and Accessibility Committee
    Tori Shay, Ebony Fullwood, Jeanette Snider, Kristin LaRivere, Hermela Felten 

Diversity Empowerment Council

Smith Student Committee

Diversity Empowerment CouncilThe students at Smith are dedicated to creating a truly welcoming environment in Van Munching Hall. The Diversity Empowerment Council (DEC), overseen by Jeanette Snider, is comprised of graduate and undergraduate students who care deeply about the experiences of diverse students within our community. Their goals are to:

  1. REPRESENT the collective views of the student body;
  2. FACILITATE interaction within the community at large; and
  3. UNITE Smith so that we may thrive together, rather than struggle separately.

To learn more about the DEC, email Jeanette Snider at

  • Leila Bouhussein, Undergrad
  • David Caceres, Undergrad
  • Samantha Chu, Master’s
  • Shirley During, Undergrad
  • Justin Ferguson, Master’s
  • Karen Hao, Undergrad
  • Desiree Morrison, Undergrad
  • Katherine Robinson, Undergrad
  • Jasmine Snead, Master’s
  • Jennifer Wang, Undergrad
  • Malcolm Woodbury, Undergrad

Ongoing Projects

  1. #SmithSpeaks — Filmed Informational Testimonials
    Justin Ferguson, Jasmine Snead, Desiree Morrison

  2. Minority-Owned Business Support Catering & Business Spotlight
    Karen Hao, Leila Bouhussein, Samantha Chu, Shirley During

  3. Renaming UMD Buildings
    David Caceres, Katherine Robinson, Jennifer Wang, Malcolm Woodbury

  4. Data Mining and Decision Making
    Justin Ferguson, Samantha Chu

Robert H. Smith School of Business
Map of Robert H. Smith School of Business
University of Maryland
Robert H. Smith School of Business
Van Munching Hall
College Park MD 20742