News at Smith

Smith Business Close-Up

Aug 06, 2009
World Class Faculty & Research

Thursday, August 6, 2009, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, August 9, 2009, 7:30 a.m.
Monday, August 10, 2009, 4:30 a.m.

Health care reform is a hot issue in Washington and primary to reforms is figuring out how to cut costs. But what is the best way to contain costs and still provide quality care?

Jul 23, 2009
World Class Faculty & Research

Broadcast Dates:
Thursday, July 23, 2009, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, July 26, 2009, 7:30 a.m.
Monday, July 27, 2009, 4:30 a.m.

Entrepreneurs begin their ventures lacking a lot of things—employees, funding, customers, technology. A large part of their success relies on their ability to get these things, and that depends in large part on the entrepreneur’s ability to network with people and organizations that can provide them with everything from further connections to equipment to good advice.

Jul 09, 2009
World Class Faculty & Research

Broadcast Dates: 
Thursday, July 9, 2009, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, July 12, 2009, 7:30 a.m.
Monday, July 13, 2009, 4:30 a.m.

For companies to stay one step ahead of the competition they need to be innovative – one way to do that is to rethink business models to incorporate sustainability. This can lead to new efficiencies that add to the firm’s bottom line, make customers happy and lessen environmental impact as well.

Jun 25, 2009
Experiential / Reality-based Learning

Broadcast Dates: 
Thursday, June 25, 2009, 7:30 p.m. 
Sunday, June 28, 2009, 7:30 a.m. 
Monday, June 29, 2009, 4:30 a.m.

If it seems like you and everyone you know is looking for a job, it might actually help your search if your friends have success landing a position.

Jun 11, 2009
World Class Faculty & Research

Broadcast Dates: 
Thursday, June 11, 2009, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, June 14, 2009, 7:30 a.m.
Monday, June 15, 2009, 4:30 a.m.

Life is full of decisions – sometimes tough ones– but those decisions can be made easier for informed consumers and savvy marketers.

Pages

About the University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business 

The Robert H. Smith School of Business is an internationally recognized leader in management education and research. One of 12 colleges and schools at the University of Maryland, College Park, the Smith School offers undergraduate, full-time and part-time MBA, executive MBA, online MBA, MS in business, PhD and executive education programs, as well as outreach services to the corporate community. The school offers its degree, custom and certification programs in learning locations in North America and Asia.

Subscribe to News