DAR - Alumni / Giving

Smith Alum in the Running for BusinessWeek’s Best Young Entrepreneur 2008

Robert H. Smith School of Business finance alumnus Anik Singal ’05, was named one of America’s most promising young entrepreneurs in BusinessWeek.com’s fourth annual roundup. Singal is a finalist for the top of the 25-and-under crop — online voting will narrow down the 25 finalists to determine the top five businesses that readers feel hold the most promise.

Robert H. Smith School of Business Names 2008 Leadership and Excellence Award Winners

College Park, Md. – May 8, 2008 – The University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business today announced the recipients of the 2008 Smith Leadership and Excellence Awards. The announcement was made at the Smith School’s annual Undergraduate Awards Banquet. Each year, the school honors business leaders and organizations that have made significant and positive impact on their industries and the community in the mid-Atlantic region.

Smith Community Celebrates Alumni Mentors

Over 60 Smith School MBA students, administrators and alumni mentors attended the fourth annual Smith MBA Alumni Mentor Program (AMP) Awards Luncheon on April 19, 2008. Held at Maggiano’s Little Italy in Washington, D.C., the luncheon recognizes exemplary program participation, honoring the “Mentor of the Year,” “Cluster of the Year,” and “Cluster Coordinator of the Year.”

AMP chairs Glenn Gargan ’87, MBA ’02, and Jean-Yves Van Halle, MS ’96, MBA ’04, addressed attendees and reflected on the program’s growth over the past few years of their involvement.

University of Maryland Business School Honors Late Board Member Michael Corvino

College Park, Md. - April 14, 2008 - The University of Maryland's Robert H. Smith School of Business honored the late Michael Corvino, president of JanSport backpack brand and an active member of the schools board of visitors, with a room dedication ceremony on Thursday, April 3. Located in Van Munching Hall, the room was named in memory of Corvino's many contributions to the school before he was killed in a car accident on July 14, 2007.

Students and Alumni Learn the Importance of Networking in the Job Search

The Part-time MBA Association invited all MBA students, alumni, faculty, and administration to attend "Secrets to C-Level: Leveraging Business Contacts & the Smith Community to Launch Your Career into the Executive Stratosphere on Oct. 28, 2007. The event, held in the Colony Ballroom of the Stamp Student Union, featured the executive vice president and chief information officer from Fannie Mae, Rahul N. Merchant. Merchant has held these positions since November 2006.

Last Call for Nominations for University of Marylands Robert H. Smith School of Business 2008 Leadership and Excellence Awards

College Park, Md. November 12, 2007 The University of Marylands Robert H. Smith School of Business posts a last call for nominations of outstanding business leaders and organizations in the mid-Atlantic region for the schools 2008 Smith Leadership and Excellence Awards. Nominations may be submitted online at http://www.rhsmith.umd.edu/awards through Wednesday, Nov. 21. The annual awards will be presented in four categories: Business Excellence, Leadership Excellence, Leaders for the Digital Economy and Public Excellence.

Smith School Announces $90M Capital Campaign Alumni & Friends Gather to Celebrate

Chinese lion dancers raised the enthusiasm of onlookers at an energized celebration on Friday, October 19, when the Smith School announced that more than $47,600,000 of the schools $90 million Great Expectations capital campaign goal had been given. The school welcomed 150 influential donors and friends to mark the event, part of the university's Great Expectations: The Campaign for Maryland.

University of Maryland Business School Announces $90M Capital Campaign

College Park, Md. October 22, 2007 The University of Marylands Robert H. Smith School of Business has announced the launch of a seven-year campaign to raise $90 million in private support. The funding will support student scholarships, faculty recruitment and retention, facilities and innovation. The campaign is part of the universitys Great Expectations, the Campaign for Maryland drive to raise $1 billion the largest of any public institution in the state of Maryland and the Washington, D.C. region announced last October.

Smith Holds 18th Annual Alumni Golf Tournament

This years 18th Annual Smith School Alumni Chapter Golf Tournament, sponsored by Ernst & Young, brought out 20 teams to participate and compete on Thursday, Sept. 20, 2007. Even though there were clouds in the sky it was the perfect day to enjoy a round of golf with friends. The event started with a lunch, featured a silent auction and ended with a dinner that was sponsored by Outback Steakhouse. It was a day for alumni to reconnect with each other and raise money for the school, which goes towards supporting scholarships, programs and other initiatives of the school.

Carly Fiorina and Under Armours Kevin Plank Establish $175K Entrepreneurship Fund at University of Maryland

College Park, MD October 8, 2007 The University of Marylands Robert H. Smith School of Business today announced the launch of a $175,000 alumni donor endowment fund for the Smith Schools Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship to invest in student- and alumni-run companies. The fund was established with gifts from Smith alumni Carly Fiorina, former president and chief executive of Hewlett-Packard, and Kevin Plank, founder and chief executive of Under Armour. A $50,000 portion of the fund is earmarked for investment in socially responsible ventures.


Subscribe to RSS - DAR - Alumni / Giving